Hotel directory
Online booking

What does DEHOGA hotel stars mean?

In Germany, the formal hotel classification is defined by the German Hotel and Catering Industry Association (DEHOG) and started 1996. The DEHOGA is using a five-star system. The hotel rating reaches from one star to five stars and describes offers and perfomances by hotels which are classified. The SORAT hotels are classified with three or four stars. A hotel with three stars stands for an accommodation for greater needs and a hotel with four stars for an accommodation for high demands.

Excerpt from hotel criteria catalog three stars

  • Single room 14 sqm
  • Double room 18 sqm
  • Reception opened 14 hours
  • Accessible by phone 24 hours from inside and outside
  • Bilingual staff (German/English)
  • Three piece suite at the reception
  • Internet access
  • Additional pillow and additional blanket on demand
  • Systematic complaint management system

Excerpt from hotel criteria catalog four stars

  • Single room 16 sqm
  • Double room 22 sqm
  • Reception opened 18 hours
  • Accessible by phone 24 hours from inside and outside
  • Lobby with seats and beverage service
  • Hotel bar
  • Breakfast buffet with room service
  • Minibar or 24 hours beverages via room service
  • Upholstered chair or couch with side table
  • Bath robe and slippers on demand
  • Cosmetic products in the bathroom
  • Internet access

More about the criteria catalogue on the DEHOGA Bundesverband page.